Challenge in Mindfulness #2

As promised, we’re doing another challenge in mindfulness. I’m a bit late posting, but you know what they say. 

This week, I’d like to focus a bit more on ‘informal’ mindfulness, rather than set periods of time like last week’s challenge. Informal mindfulness is taking random moments to be mindful, so when walking or eating or even driving (please, don’t close your eyes and try to meditate whilst driving!). 

Perhaps I should also explain what definition of mindfulness I’m going with. I think there’s a lot of misperceptions out there about what it constitutes. I certainly misunderstood it before. Perhaps I still do now. I’m willing to learn! 

The definition I’m taking is from a course I’m currently listening to on Audible by the Great Course called the Science of Mindfulness. That is “awareness of present experience with acceptance”. So it’s forgetting thoughts about the past or the future, and focusing on the present reality. It can involve careful observation of what is around you using all senses: noticing the colour of the trees, the sound of birds, the taste of the food, the texture of an object, etc. 

So this is my challenge. Take 3 informal mindful moments throughout the day. Maybe take 3 mindful breathes, or 3 mindful steps, or even just 3 seconds. Just 3 moments spaced throughout the day. 

And that’s it. At the end of the week, I’ll reflect on how it went and whether achieving mindfulness got easier as time went along, and maybe note some of my mindful observations during those moments. 

Rebecca is joining me on this challenge too so we can compare notes, so to speak at the end of the week. 

Feel free to do it too, and then comment with your observations. Get in touch and let me know how it goes. I’d love to hear! 

#5daymindful

Leave a comment